Vietnam Veterans of America
The VVA Veteran® Online
homepipeAboutpipeArchivepipeSubscribepipeContactpipevva.orgVVA gifFacebookContact
-
July/August 2018
-

Letters

PASSING IT ON

I have been receiving The VVA Veteran for a couple of years, and myself and my other veteran brothers here in this prison unit in Texas thank you. The magazine is sent to me, but it is passed on to other veterans who are interested in reading it. It has helped our veteran brothers of all eras; the helpful articles in the mag are greatly appreciated. Vietnam veterans are dwindling, but the young veterans will remain.

I come from an immediate family of five veterans dating from World War II to Iraq. In remembrance, I salute.

God Bless You. God Bless America.

Ruben R. Villalva
Huntsville, Texas

PRESERVING A LEGACY

Thanks for Henry Zeybel’s review of my recent book on the VVA site. I greatly appreciate your commitment to review every book published relating to the Vietnam War and Era. We have proven far more willing to share our stories than veterans of previous U.S. wars, thereby providing a priceless legacy for future generations. The volume of our output, however, makes your pledge to give each book some attention a very significant commitment of time and effort. This recognition of the importance of the written word in preserving our history is one of several things that distinguishes VVA, in a very positive way, from other veterans organizations.

Thank you for your efforts. Please pass my gratitude on to Henry.

Steve Atkinson
By Email

GRUMPY OLD MEN

I could not believe all the negativity in the Letters of the May/June issue. I thought I was reading some of the script from the movie Grumpy Old Men. So many people unhappy with the advertisements. Just don’t buy the products.

As for veterans tired of being told “Thank you for your service,” Sandy Steer stated it perfectly: If you don’t like being thanked for your service, don’t advertise it.

Geez, lighten up, vets. 

Pete Killian