Vietnam Veterans of America  

The VVA Veteran® Online  
  homepipeAboutpipeArchivepipeSubscribepipeContactpipevva.orgVVA gifFacebookContact    

-
July/August 2024  -   -  

BEST. COVER. EVER.

My hat’s off to the staff of The VVA Veteran. The May/June cover has my vote for the best cover ever. Just something about the old soldier looking at the names of soldiers forever young.

R. J. Lowder
via email

OVERWHELMED

As an NCOC Shake ‘n Bake graduate, I want to say how overwhelming it was to see the NCOC article in the May/June issue. Please let everyone know that a monument and bronze plaque are at the Infantry Museum for NCOC graduates.

Gary Higgins
via email

PLEASANT SURPRISE

I was surprised to see the article on Army Shake ‘n Bakes in your recent issue. I graduated as an E-5 sergeant after a mere eight months of service in April 1971. Since leaving the service in 1972, I have never run into anyone who ever heard the term or understood how the program worked. While I was trained in artillery, I hadn’t realized that the Army also had similar programs in Infantry, Armor, Combat Engineering, and the Signal Corps.

Although I was drafted, I was given the opportunity to go to OCS, but it required me to extend my enlistment two years. The alternate offer of becoming an Artillery Crew Chief with an E-5 rank after sixteen weeks of intense training on all field artillery pieces and leadership skills was attractive to me.

Rather than just shooting howitzers as part of an artillery crew, the Artillery Combat Leadership school at Ft. Sill allowed me to earn my sergeant’s stripes before the age of 20. I returned home from my Vietnam War tour of duty with B Battery of the 3/82 Artillery and was discharged three days before my 21st birthday.

James A. Stettler
via email

MEMORIES