Vietnam Veterans of America  

The VVA Veteran® Online  
  homepipeAboutpipeArchivepipeSubscribepipeContactpipevva.orgVVA gifFacebookContact    

-
May/June 2024  -   -  

Still Searching

Reading “The Search Never Stops” by Dennis Howland brought to mind Air Force Maj. Martin J. Massucci of Royal Oak, Michigan, who has been missing since October 1, 1965. I wear his bracelet as a constant reminder of his sacrifice. Along with two fellow VVA members, I conduct a missing man table ceremony to honor these men. In my introduction, I share the stories of these missing heroes, explaining why we must keep their memories alive. The ceremony often moves attendees to tears.

It’s crucial that we keep these missing servicemembers in the public consciousness to help their families find closure. Wearing a POW/MIA bracelet allows me to contribute to this ongoing remembrance. May we one day bring them all home.

David Hoffman
via email

Deja Vu

I’m an Air Force Vietnam veteran and the cover of the March/April issue triggered a lot of memories. I was an EB-66 navigator-bombardier, and we used a probe and drogue air refueling system similar to the one shown on the cover. However, when I was in the Air Force most planes refueled using the flying boom system in which the boom operator on the KC-135 tanker aircraft would plug the refueling boom into a receptacle on the receiving aircraft.

In the photo on the cover, the dark black straight line going from the bottom right toward the middle of the page is the refueling probe from the aircraft seeking fuel. The white/tan circle around that black straight line is the refueling drogue being towed behind the aerial tanker aircraft. We used to call that “the basket.” The black line running down is the air refueling line from the KC-135 like the one shown on page 23.

It is refreshing to see one of the things from my tour of duty highlighted on the cover of The Veteran.

Thomas Mangan
Brockport, New York

She's Hardcore