The VVA Veteran® Online
HomeAboutArchiveSubscribeContactvva.orgFacebookContact

September/October 2014

Letters

POWERFUL POETRY

I really enjoyed the powerful poems in David Willson’s “Aftermath” that appeared in the July/August issue. I am a 100 percent disabled veteran who spent months in various hospitals getting whole—physically, anyway. I began writing to help ease the inner conflicts I felt inside.

This magazine is a godsend and helps so many families and veterans. Thanks for all you guys do. God bless America.

Dennis Leahy
By Email

ACTIVITIES, NOT POETRY

I just read the latest issue of The Veteran and can’t believe there’s four pages of poetry. Mind you, I have nothing against poetry, but four pages? I can understand now why our chapter has sent in reports of activities to be published and had a response of “No room…yak yak yak.”

Personally, I believe members would like to hear about what’s going on in other chapters in the way of activities and fund-raisers. That is what helps us, not poetry. If I want to read poetry, I can check out a book in the library. Come on guys, get on the stick.

Walter J. Buzin
By Email

A JOB WELL DONE

I would like to express my admiration and respect for Pete Peterson, chair, and the Government Affairs staff. His report in the July/August issue was something to admire. He wrote about what has been going on at the VA for years, with a firm conviction, telling it as it is. 

In these times of so-called political correctness, his report is a fresh hope that maybe other VVA chairs will also tell it as it should be told, and stop pussy-footing so as not to step on feet that need to be stepped on.

Thanks, Pete, for a job well done.

Marcello A. Vache
Harman, West Virginia

TIMES OF TERROR AND HEROISM

Thank you for publishing “Darkness to the Blue World” and Vida Volkert for writing it. It evokes memories of times of terror, heroism, and intense fear.