The VVA Veteran® Online
HomeAboutArchiveSubscribeContactvva.orgFacebookContact

Looking to the Future VVA, November/December 2016

“VVA: True to its Founding Principle”

BY MARSHA FOUR, VVA VICE PRESIDENT

Exactly twenty-nine years ago I walked into a VVA chapter meeting. It was a simple visit with a friend, unassuming and unexpected—yet it changed my life profoundly.

There was a palpable passion among the members of Delaware County, Pennsylvania, Chapter 67 as they spoke about veterans benefits, health care, legislation, justice—changes that were needed for which we must take up the sword and fight. Back then the list seemed unending, and I was astounded by the total lack of VA services and benefits for women veterans. I was a veteran and deserved to be treated as one.  

I became so involved in the urgency of the work that I never took time to learn about VVA’s origins. Where did we come from? It’s a proud, gritty story of men and women Vietnam veterans who fought and forged the way for us all, ultimately offering us a piece of the action. From the crucible of its first convention in 1983 came our Founding Principle: “Never again will one generation of veterans abandon another.” It is who we are. It is why we are. We vowed our commitment to the seven million veterans of the Vietnam Era and to all America’s veterans, regardless of time or conflict.

This Founding Principle was a simple yet profound response to our treatment as newly inducted veterans. The message couldn’t be mistaken. It’s upon this premise that our legacy could well depend. It is the reason VVA exists. I hear it in the strident voices of our founders. It is the underpinning of our organizational structure. It is who we are. It is our energy. It is our cause: Never again will one generation of veterans abandon another.