The VVA Veteran® Online
HomeAboutArchiveSubscribeContactvva.orgFacebookContact

March/April 2012

Da Nang Déjà Vu

BY TERRENCE COONEY 

It’s a Monday at Dulles Airport, and I’m awaiting yet another business flight. I wear a Vietnam veteran hat because it provides an opportunity to meet other alumni. I’m proud of my service, and I hope it lets those who went elsewhere know I didn’t. Anyway, three military officers come in: an Army colonel, a LTC, and a Navy LCDR. (No, this isn’t a bar joke.) The two guys walked off with their iPhones while the LCDR stays put facing me, doing an excellent job of guarding the luggage. 

The Naval officer, LCDR Kimberly M. Mitchell, introduces herself. She asks if I am a Vietnam veteran and I reply I am. She says last year she visited the orphanage in Vietnam where she was raised and adopted by an Air Force sergeant. Ever hear of six degrees of separation? Well, this is one of those.

She asks where I was stationed, and I say I Corps near Da Nang, between Monkey Mountain and Marble Mountain. She says her orphanage was also south of Da Nang. Catholic nuns? Yup. Off the main road? Yup. Near the South China Sea beaches? Yup. Bingo. Okay, what years?

She was adopted in 1972. My unit, the 536th Engineer Detachment, 84th Engineer Battalion (Construction), supported the orphanage during my 1971-72 tour. Sometimes we used some of our military equipment to help out. Now she’s a Naval Academy graduate serving on the Joint Chiefs of Staff.